Sakshi Malik, Virat Kohli, Dipa Karmakar win Padma Shri awards

Sakshi Malik, Virat Kohli, Dipa Karmakar win Padma Shri awards

Rio Olympics bronze medalist Sakshi Malik, Gymnast Deepa Karmakar and Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli are among those in the to be endowed the Padma Shri awards. Others include Paralympic gold medalist Thangavellu Mariyappan, disc thrower Vikas Gowda and Indian hockey captain PR Sreejesh.

Virat Kohli has been the captain of the Indian Test cricket team since 2014. He has also led team Royal Challengers Bangalore in last season of Indian Premier League. Virat was recently made the skipper of Indian cricket team and under his captaincy, the team won the series of three ODI matches played against England.

Thangavelu Mariyappan won the gold medal at the Paralympics and this is the first time for an Indian athlete to win a medal in the event. Sakshi Malik won India’s first medal in the Rio Olympics 2016 and became the first Indian female wrestler as well as the fourth female Indian athlete overall to win an Olympic medal.

Disc thrower Vikas Gowda has represented India four times in the Olympics and is recognised as one India’s best exports in the sport. Dipa Karmakar is India’s first representative in the Olympics gymnastics competition in more than 52 years and finished fourth.

PR Sreejesh has won the 2016 Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy. He was part of the Indian Junior hockey setup as mentor and the team went on to win the 2016 Junior Hockey World Cup, the first time India won the title in more than a decade.